You can now delete messages from everyone’s view on Facebook Messenger. Thanks to Facebook Messenger Update unsend feature.
Facebook has a feature that enables you to delete messages from a conversation after you sent them. So you can remove messages in Messenger now if you send a wrong message to the wrong person or make an unbelievable typo.
It works if you tap the message that you want to delete in 10 minutes after you send it. Two options are displayed: Remove for you or Remove for everyone. The Everyone delete selection will replace your message with text you have deleted.
It is similar to the power of CEO Mark Zuckerberg to infamously delete messages. Several sources found out last April that they had missed messages from the CEO mysteriously. When questioned, Facebook confirmed the messages from the Sony Pictures email hacks of 2014 that Zuckerberg’s messages had expired over time.
Having found out that the average user could not delete messages while Zuckerberg (and probably other managers) can use this feature, people called out Facebook for preferential treatment to higher-ups. On the same day, the Facebook organization announced that it would develop an unsend feature in the coming months for all users and limit the ability of Zuckerberg to use it until everyone had the same power.
Facebook announced that the new feature will be available today on Messenger’s latest versions for iOS and Android. The company claims Facebook Messenger Update unsend feature is built on the power of Zuckerberg. However “some improvements were made to make people using Messenger more functional. “
- Source: The Verge